Skip to content

My Blankie

November 14, 2013

I share a lot of personal information and insights on my blog. Perhaps no post story has been more intimate a revelation than this one will be.

20131114-205123.jpg

I love my blankie.

There – I’ve said it. It’s good to get it out of the closet.

I’ve loved my blankie as long as I can remember. Some of my earliest memories involve my blankie.

My blankie gave me comfort and warmth since I was a baby.

I love the feel of my blankie. Only my blankie feels the way it does. It is a unique texture that I could pick out blindfolded from 100 other blankets.

My blankie is about 3 foot long by 2 foot wide. It’s not very big, but for a baby or toddler, it always came thru big.

And, maybe the most embarrassing part of my blankie story is – it’s pink. I don’t know why it’s pink. I asked my mom and she doesn’t know why it was pink. Don’t boys usually get blue blankies? But it was ok with me when I was a kid that it was pink. And I’m ok with it now that I’m a man. I’m not ashamed of blankie.

My blankie served me well.

I have a vivid memory of waking up cold and scared in the dark one night when I was maybe 3 or 4 years old and going over to a floor heat register and pulling my blanket over me and the register to keep the heat in and keep me warm and comforted. I fell asleep there, safe and warm and comforted thanks to my blankie.

My blankie was fun too and often served as a cape when I would play superheroes with my brother and cousin, tying one end around my neck and letting the other end fly in the breeze as I ran or flew around. With my blankie, and my imagination, I could fly.

As often happens, my blankie fell by the wayside as I was growing up.

But I never forgot my blankie.

And I still have it.

Well, I still have most of it.

You see, there is a small corner of my blankie that is missing. It’s not AWOL. It wasn’t stolen. It was given away, and I know exactly where it is.

When we lost a child to miscarriage, an event I wrote about in another blog post entitled Saint Callistus Ember Novick, I cut off a corner of my beloved blankie, the corner you see missing in the photo above, and had it buried with our baby in a grave over where my mother-in-law is buried. I was deeply grieved by the loss of that baby, and wanted to give that soul something I loved that was warming and comforting to be with it for eternity. Callie has a piece of blankie with him/her right now.

My blankie came in handy for me later too. When I was going through a very painful time experiencing the anguish and pain of divorce, I brought out my blankie again and many nights held it close in the night. That familiar feel of my blankie was a comfort to me like it had been so many years before.

Blankie is in a safe and nearby place now. No, I don’t sleep with it anymore, but knowing it’s nearby if ever I should need it is a real comfort.

That old rag is of little use to anyone else.

But to me it is a priceless treasure.

And, when I die, I hope they bury blankie with me. I imagine then I’ll know everything will be ok.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Y! Support permalink
    November 20, 2013 10:01 am

    very touching Ed, Happy thanksgiving bill burns

    ________________________________

Trackbacks

  1. 2013 Year In Review | Ed Novick's Blog

Leave a comment

Ed 'n Leslie Asking

Endlessly Asking

Leslie’s Lovin’ Oven

The Secret Ingredient Is ... Love

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace