Skip to content

My Favorite Joke

March 12, 2015

I can appreciate a good joke. But I’m not a joke teller. I seem to quickly forget just about every joke I’ve ever been told.

But one joke I first heard from my drinking buddy, Jerry, back in college, I’ve never forgotten. I guess it’s my favorite joke. So I thought I’d share it.  It goes like this:


 

One day, the Lone Ranger and Tonto were out on the range. Suddenly, a band of Indians in war paint came over the ridge in front of them. The Lone Ranger and his trusty companion turned their horses around to race away from the Indians, but as they turned they noticed another band of Indians in war paint charging at them from the ridge they had just come over. They looked right, then left, and noticed more charging Indians in war paint bearing down on them from those directions too. They were surrounded. There was nowhere to run.

The Lone Ranger said, “Well, Tonto, we’re surrounded by hostile Indians. It looks like we’re finished”. Tonto looked around, and replied, “What you mean “WE”, white man?”

 

 


What do you think? Do you like it?

Why is that my favorite joke?

Not to get too analytical, but it is surprising. You know a punch line is coming, but you don’t know what it’s going to be. You never suspect what comes in the punch line. And when you hear it, it is unexpected. The last thing I was expecting when I heard that joke was for trusty Tonto to turn on his “kemosabe”.

Wouldn’t it be awful to be the Lone Ranger in that joke? Not only are you about to die, horribly, but the person you trusted completely betrays you when you need that person most.

I know what that feels like. I’m divorced.

You probably weren’t expecting that connection or punch line either.

But I know the feeling of The Lone Ranger in the joke, and it’s a lot like the surprise betrayal that The Lone Ranger was confronted with in the joke.

I imagine that if the Lone Ranger was fortunate to survive that day, finding some way to fend off the Indians, (maybe the Calvary arrived in the nick of time or something), he could never trust that traitorous red face again. He could choose to live out on the range alone for the rest of his days. Or he could find another truly trusty companion – one with integrity.

20131109-051324.jpg

 

Who knows? Maybe The Lone Ranger in the story even lives to have the last laugh…if there can be one.

loneranger

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2015 8:38 pm

    Awesome!! Love the joke and the great possibilities for the ending 😊

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

