Skip to content

Nine Day Pilgrimage For Life

January 16, 2015

What are you doing for the next 9 days?  Will you join me on a virtual pilgrimage?

The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops have invited us to join them on a nine day pilgrimage of prayer and penance for life.

9days

 

January 22, 2015 marks the 42nd anniversary of the U.S. Supreme Court’s controversial decision that made abortion legal in the United States.  Since then it is estimated that over 56 million children’s lives have been lost.

The nine day pilgrimage, promoted as 9 Days For Life, will begin tomorrow, January 17th, and continue through January 25th, 2015.

Please find some time daily during those days to pray for an end to abortion, and the souls those who have been aborted, and those that have done the aborting.

There are 4 ways to join on the virtual pilgrimage:

  1. Join using an app
  2. Join by text
  3. Join by email
  4. Join online

To join in any of these ways go to http://www.usccb.org/about/pro-life-activities/january-roe-events/nine-days-of-prayer-penance-and-pilgrimage.cfm to register.

It is of significant interest to note, that Norma McCorvey,  the woman plaintiff behind the legal pseudonym Jane Roe in the infamous Roe v. Wade decision that that individual states could not ban abortions because they were unconstitutional, is now a Roman Catholic and active in the pro-life movement. In her 2nd book, Won by Love, she explained her change on the stance of abortion in the following words:

 

I was sitting in O.R.’s offices when I noticed a fetal development poster. The progression was so obvious, the eyes were so sweet. It hurt my heart, just looking at them. I ran outside and finally, it dawned on me. ‘Norma’, I said to myself, ‘They’re right’. I had worked with pregnant women for years. I had been through three pregnancies and deliveries myself. I should have known. Yet something in that poster made me lose my breath. I kept seeing the picture of that tiny, 10-week-old embryo, and I said to myself, that’s a baby! It’s as if blinders just fell off my eyes and I suddenly understood the truth — that’s a baby!

I felt crushed under the truth of this realization. I had to face up to the awful reality. Abortion wasn’t about ‘products of conception’. It wasn’t about ‘missed periods’. It was about children being killed in their mother’s wombs. All those years I was wrong. Signing that affidavit, I was wrong. Working in an abortion clinic, I was wrong. No more of this first trimester, second trimester, third trimester stuff. Abortion — at any point — was wrong. It was so clear. Painfully clear.

 

fetus

 

I believe the gross and tragic injustice of abortion is deeply regrettable to souls, is a grave moral wrong, and its legalization and public funding should be repealed.  So do many millions of other Americans.  If you have opinions to the contrary, I respect your right to your opinions, and request that you respect mine/our opinion in supporting life.

I hope to see you on the journey.  But more importantly, I hope to see an end to abortion.  Innocent human life is too precious to do nothing about, and worth fighting and praying for.  If you agree, join me on the journey and share information about the journey with others.

 

For more information and to join in the 9 Days for Life pilgrimage:

http://www.usccb.org/about/pro-life-activities/january-roe-events/nine-days-of-prayer-penance-and-pilgrimage.cfm

9 Days for Life – Resources for Leaders:

http://www.usccb.org/about/pro-life-activities/january-roe-events/9-days-for-life-resources-for-leaders.cfm

For more on Norma McCorvey:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norma_McCorvey

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2015 6:38 pm

    Thank you Ed for your active role in the pro-life movement. Its refreshing to see a man take such a passionate stance for life.

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

