Skip to content

In Our Own Little World

January 7, 2015

Many Christmases ago (about 14), my kids got a Hoberman Sphere toy, or as we called it – a stretchy ball.  It was a plastic toy that started out as a 9″ sphere, but in an engineering wonder, could expand to a 30″ sphere. It was unique toy that had very little practical uses, but was a engineering novelty that for a while filled kids with amazement and wonder as they played and had fun with it.  Here is an image showing what the toy looked like both expanded and contracted.

sphere2

 

 

We soon discovered that the kids could in one moment hold the small sphere in their small hands, and in the next moment expand the sphere and actually get inside of it.

First one kid got in…then the next….

Then for the ultimate challenge….

I myself squeezed through the opening of the expanded sphere, then had one kid climb in and sit on my lap, and then the next.

Here is a photo we took of me, my son Cody who was around 4 years old, and my sweet little Tess who was around 3 years old, inside the sphere in our own little cozy world.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/fda/7105792/files/2015/01/img_6634.jpg

 

 

Christmases when the kids were small were filled with wonder and and lots of fun.

The kids, now in their late teens, have grown up so fast.

Sometimes I wish I could still get into that little sphere with them and hold them close like I did then.  Those were happier days filled with much joy, love and closeness.  It felt good to be having fun so close to them in our own little world.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

