Skip to content

Challenges and Chain Letters

October 6, 2014

Why are we so susceptible to challenges and chain letters? And how do we stop them?

Recently I’ve been receiving a lot of them on Facebook and in emails.  Am I obliged to do something about them?  Am I dishonorable, or worse – will I be jinxed – if I don’t?

I received an ALS Ice Bucket Challenge earlier this year and felt morally obliged to do something about it.  Should I have been?

You’ve probably seen the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge…someone challenges you to either donate $100 to ALS (Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis – often referred to as Lou Gehrig’s disease) Association or to dump a bucket of ice water over their head and continue the chain by challenging others to take the same challenge.

At least the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge was for a good cause so I met it…and continued it. Here was my recent response a couple of months ago.

 

Today I received a challenge from a Facebook friend that essential said ‘I nominate Ed Novick to say three positive things each day for five days and nominate 3 people each day to do the same.’

Really? Must I?  Who has time for that?  And do I really want to make anyone else feel obliged to do the same?

When does this absurdity stop?

For years I would receive chain letters and wonder what I was supposed to do with them.  I heard that it was bad luck to break the chain, but didn’t want to perpetuate a tradition of superstition by involving other friends and family members with them.  So I stop the chain and do not forward them, trusting in The Lord to protect me from any curses or jinxes.  Yes, I have had some misfortune in recent years.  But I do not attribute it to my breaking of the chain letters.  My misfortune I attribute directly to other causes.  And in my misfortune I have grown as a person and come to trust in The Lord for all things … and He has provided.

Then today I received a Find Your Energy Name challenge.  I didn’t know there was such a thing.  Here is an image showing how to do it.  I’m supposed to decipher my Positive Energy Name and then post it for the world to know.

energy

 

Doing this challenge I discovered that I am Perfect Love Singer.  How uncanny!  I AM a Perfect Love Singer.  How could they have known?

But seriously, I don’t believe I have a need for a positive energy name, don’t think I will be going by that name in the future, and don’t feel obliged to answer or post the results of such challenges when I get them.

The only Perfect Love Singer I want to be is the one who sings the praises of the perfect love of Almighty God and the Lord Jesus Christ for all of us.  So may The Lord help me break the cycle of chain letters and challenges in this world, and focus all people on His perfect love and on His glory.

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound! that saved and set me free”.

 

P.S. I have a challenge for you who read this… er, I mean a suggestion, not a challenge … share this article with anyone who sends you a challenge or chain letter.  Maybe they’ll get the message that you’re not interested in playing their silly game.  And if they do the same, and those who they share it with do the same, and so on, maybe eventually we can break the chain of superstition and inaneness, and better spend our efforts sharing a message of The Lord God’s perfect love with one another – something truly worthwhile of our time and efforts.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

