Skip to content

Why I Blog

August 14, 2014

Why do I blog?

There is no simple answer.

But last night I received a greater sense as to why.

The lovable comedic actor Robin Williams recently departed from the world too soon under tragic circumstances.  Many people are tweeting their own personal reflections on the loss.

One friend posted a link to the following video which struck me deeply as the profound words of the dearly departed Robin sounded inspiringly.

(Here is a link to the original video from The Dead Poet’s Society movie.)

 

 

Here is the text of the quote that you hear in the video which comes from Robin Williams’ character John Keating from the movie Dead Poets Society:

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.

To quote from (Walt) Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?”

Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play *goes on* and you may contribute a verse.

What will your verse be?”

 

I was stirred and moved by the words.

I too am a poet at heart, having written several poems of my own (links: When Comes This Spring Called Loved?The Sun With Your Face RisesSo Many Steps Forgotten) over the years.  I poured myself in to poetry at some of the most desperate and passionate times of my life.  Doing so helped to remind me I was alive and what I was alive for.

Since my first blog post, which included some verse, I’ve had an awareness of of why I am, what it all means, and why I blog…to share my unique, personal verse in the powerful passion play of life.

My second blog post, which also included some verse, further expressed why I blog: “To capture the thoughts of a moment in time for the eyes, minds and hearts of countless people and moments in the near and distant future.”

Here is a link to many more inspiring quotes from The Dead Poets Society that you may wish to read for inspiration. I recommend that you watch the movie sometime if you haven’t already.  If you have, watch it again.

I also found many other Robin Williams quotes from his many works and movies, including the following quote from the movie Awakenings that further verbalized a sense of why I blog.

“The human spirit is more powerful than any drug and that is what needs to be nourished: with work, play, friendship, family. These are the things that matter.”

Over the past 5 years I have here written and posted freely over 140 blog stories on numerous soulful subjects of Family (The Best Christmas GiftMy Sweet Tess ValentineFather / Son Races; Hundred Reasons To Love My MomHe Served Us WellNear No-HitterIn Loving Memory of Gladys) and Friendship (My Best FriendThe Soundtrack of Our LivesSuper Man) and Faith (Forces; Happy Trails To YouHe’s Alive!), and the Human Spirit (The Second HalfRocky TimesLet’s Roll), as well as many fun and whimsical subjects to make people smile and laugh including my announcements about my recent Ed Novick Comics endeavor in attempts to connect with the human spirit within me, and with you, my reader.

I hope by my blogging and sharing my creative works I might inspire you to find your own verse, and maybe share yours with others…or maybe if you are struggling in life, just inspire you to hold on for one more day to believe in and see the hopeful light of tomorrow which is full of wonderful possibilities.

Yesterday I also saw another quote posted on Facebook that touched me, and expressed a sense of why I blog and share my thoughts and gifts with you …

“The meaning of life is to find your gift.  The purpose of life is to give it away”.

And that is why I blog, and share it all freely with you.

 

Oh, Captain, My Captain. Thank you, Robin, for sharing your verse with us as you did. We are far richer for having known you.

O Captain! My Captain!

And to you, my friends, “Carpe diem”.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

