Skip to content

Wrigley Field Tour Is Heaven

July 10, 2014

I have been a Chicago Cubs baseball fan as long as I can remember. I was 3 years old in 1969 when the excitement of the ’69 Cubs turned into the disappointment of the ’69 Cubs as they collapsed in September. I loved watching the day home games at Wrigley Field on TV with my dad  and knew the Cubs players by name that year…Don Kessinger, Glenn Beckert, Billy Williams, Ron Santo, Randy Hundley, Fergie Jenkins, and Mr. “let’s play two” Cub himself, Ernie Banks.  I have been a fan ever since.

Now, for a kid growing up watching Chicago Cubs baseball day games at Wrigley Field, that place is heaven.

Have you seen the Field of Dreams movie? Then you might understand – there is something surreal and heavenly about the place.

My brother Michael is as big a fan as I am – and even probably bigger.

So for Michael’s 30th birthday in 1997 we got a set of tickets to go on a Wrigley Field day tour.

I had a college friend, Betsy, who, for a summer job, gave day tours at Wrigley Field. On the weekends when the Cubs were out of town, Wrigley Field gave behind-the-scene tours at the ballpark. Betsy suggested going on the tour, so taking Michael there for a birthday gift seemed like a great idea to celebrate in a special way doing something memorable.

So we got tickets and a group of 6 of us went – Michael, his friend Charles, my cousin Jim, his wife Christy, my former wife Tina, and I.

What a great experience!

20140710-203033-73833043.jpg

My cousin Jimmy, his wife Christy, my brother Michael, my former wife Tina, and me outside Wrigley Field before the tour – Photo taken by Michael’s friend Charles

Betsy and her co-tour guide conducted the tour and did a great job informing us about the history of Wrigley Field.  We got to go to parts of the park that are usually off limits to fans.  We went into the Press Box, the Bleachers, the Visitor’s Clubhouse, the Cubs Clubhouse, and even into the Cubs Dugout.

But the best part was walking through the Cubs dugout and emerging onto the field of our childhood dreams.

The grass was soooo lush!  It was so bright and the sky was so blue.

My brother Michael and I were giddy to be on the field at Wrigley. It felt surreal – like we were in heaven.

I said to Michael, “When we die, I’ll meet you here”. I thought this must be what heaven was like, and for two Cub baseball fans like us, what more could we want to do when we got to heaven than to spend our time playing baseball, the game we loved, on the field of our choice which was the Cubs very own Wrigley Field.

We were allowed to go out onto the outfield grass….and play catch with a baseball where our childhood baseball heroes roamed. My friend Betsy who suggested the tour, and conducted it, had given me the heads-up to bring our baseball gloves and a baseball so we could play catch on the field.  We did. It was so exciting!  We played catch for 15 minutes or so before the tour was over and we had to leave the field.

We captured a few photos of the experience and a little video on our video camera too. Here are a couple of the photos.

20140710-203037-73837852.jpg

Me in foreground in center field and Michael in background in left field – Ahhh, heaven!

20140710-203035-73835361.jpg

Me timelessly and eternally frozen making a catch in center field at Wrigley Field

 

Looking for something novel and memorable to do this weekend?

Why not check the tour schedule and get tickets to an upcoming Wrigley Field day tour.

You just might think you’ve died and gone to heaven.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2016 6:28 pm

    Oh man, that is so awesome you got to play catch on Wrigley Field! I just did the tour myself last month while the Cubs were out of town. Unfortunately, the field was roped off outside the Cubs’ dugout as there was maintenance going on that day on the field. Plus, I am not sure if going onto the field itself was ever and option to begin with or if you just happened to get lucky since your friend was the tour leader. Either way, what an amazing experience you had.

    • Ed Novick permalink*
      October 22, 2016 10:15 am

      I think at the time it was a standard part of the tour. Not sure whether they’re still doing it. Maybe it wasn’t done now because of the pennant race.

      Thanks for sharing.

      Go Cubs!

Trackbacks

  1. Mr. Cub Made An Impact | Ed Novick's Blog

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

