Skip to content

Happy Trails To You

June 7, 2014

If you search my blog for the word “celebrate” you will find many blog articles on reasons to celebrate life. One you will find entitled Celebrating 50 offers some good ideas for finding reasons to celebrate.

At HolidayInsights.com, another resource I’ve found for finding reasons to celebrate every day, I discovered that today, June 7th, is National Trails Day. Maybe you can celebrate life today by going out for a walk, run or ride on a trail near your home.

I went for a jog on one trail near my home yesterday with my son, Canyon. It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed some quality time together walking and jogging on the trail.

20140607-093028-34228752.jpg

 

On the trail there was a sign that read, fittingly enough, “TRAIL”.

As I approached it, it looked for a moment like it said “TRIAL”.

I couldn’t help but think how close those two words are to one another, but how different they are in meaning.

We all go down the trail of life.

Most of the time the we go smoothly and easily down the TRAIL.

But all of us at one time or another find ourselves in the midst of a TRIAL.

It made me think…why are we sometimes on the TRAILS and at other times in the TRIALS?

So I prayed about it.

The answer I received is ridiculously simple and I wanted to share it with you — it’s because we get the “A” and the “I” mixed up.

When we put the “A” first, we find ourselves happy on the TRAIL.

But sometimes we put the “I” before the “A” and we find ourselves in the midst of a TRIAL

Makes perfect sense, doesn’t it?

So let’s take a closer look at that.

What are the “A” and the “I”?

Well, if the “I” is me, that’s simple enough. “I” is a pronoun for “me”.

Then what is the “A”?

The answer I heard was that A is the Alpha…the beginning….the Word…it is God, the Father, the Creator.

When we put God first – His will, His ways, His Word – first in our lives, we find ourselves happily on the beautiful TRAIL of creation he meant for us. It is not always easy, in fact it is often marked by suffering and at times prosecution.  But it is full of His blessings and grace.

But when we put ourselves first – what we want, our ways, our will – first in our lives, we shut out God, block His goodness from blessing us, and we inevitably end up in a TRIAL – a conflict, a struggle, that gets us lost, hurts us and others, and can lead to despair.

The Good News is that if we call on The Lord, Jesus Christ, and seek Him, no matter how far off the trail we may have strayed doing things our own way, no matter how bad our trials may be, He in His infinite Love and Mercy for us, I repeat, He in His infinite Love and Mercy for us, gladly finds us where we are in our trials, is with us in them, and can lead us back to the trail that God intended and wants for us.

Simple, huh?

If you are experiencing trials today, look up — call on Jesus and seek him out. He will find you and bring you His peace, and lead you back to THE TRAIL.

20140607-092756-34076497.jpg

 

So celebrate, rejoice, and be glad.

 

And for more good news, it’s also National Chocolate Ice Cream Day … so eat some if it helps you through your trials or to celebrate your walk on the trail. 🙂

 

HAPPY TRAILS!

 

“What do you think a man does who has one hundred sheep and one of them gets lost? He will leave the other ninety-nine grazing on the hillside and go and look for the lost sheep. 13 When he finds it, I tell you, he feels far happier over this one sheep than over the ninety-nine that did not get lost. 14 In just the same way your Father in heaven does not want any of these little ones to be lost.”  Matthew 18:12-14

“Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6

 

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. 150 | Ed Novick's Blog

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

