Skip to content

Getting To Know You

May 23, 2014

How well do we really know each other?

You can know and even live with someone for years, but never really know them.

Several years ago I had the idea to create a biographical Relative Research Report form to facilitate getting to know another family member a little better.   I designed it for anyone’s use in getting to know someone else, but intended it for my kids to use to get to know their grandparents and other relatives a little better and to make some bonding opportunities.  The form that I created in Word format is written in biographical format with blanks in it that you can fill in to make a person’s biography. Click here for a copy of the blank form.

I was fortunate to get my kids and parents together so that we could create my dad’s biography before he died.  Unfortunately I lost the final version in a computer crash a few years ago, but I found a half-completed version of it recently and re-read it.  It reminded me of the quality time we spent together getting to know ‘grandpa’ a little better and some of the things I learned about my dad that I never knew.  Interested in what my dad had to share?  Click here to take a quiz to see how well you knew my dad from answers he provided to us.   Some of his answers might surprise you.

Here’s a suggestion:  Why not download the form and spend some time filling it out based on responses from someone special in your life?   You’ll have a keepsake record of the time together and a treasured biography of your loved one.

Or, even interview yourself and fill in the form with your own answers to create an autobiography that you can share with someone else or give to your kids or grandkids.

Whether you download and use the form or not, DO take some time soon to get to know someone special in your life a little better.  You might learn  something you didn’t know about them.

When a loved one is gone, they’re gone.

So, while they’re still here, spend a little quality time getting to know them a little better and bonding with them more deeply.  You’ll be glad you did.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

