Skip to content

My First Million

May 21, 2014

By my calculations I just made a million dollars.

I didn’t just make it today. I didn’t make it this past year, last year, or the past decade.

By my calculations I made my first million over my entire life so far. And I’m 47 years old.

I thought it would have come sooner. It didn’t.

I thought it would have been easier. It wasn’t.

I thought I would have more to show for it. I don’t.

At $40,000 a year it will take a person 25 years to earn $1,000,000.

At $50,000 a year it will take a person 20 years to earn $1,000,000.

Most of us will earn about $2,000,000 over the course of a lifetime. And, after taxes and modest living expenses, most of us will have very little left over to show for it to live off of, let alone to dream to live like a millionaire.

Some like me will have extra burdensome challenges … expenses for raising children, divorce and divorce recovery expenses, medical bills, medication expenses, legal bills, and counseling bills from the aforementioned challenges. It is enough to make anyone sick and broke. It did me. And I have a masters in business degree and have had a steady career in the insurance business. So I’m one of the fortunate ones. I feel sorry for those who don’t have an education or work qualifications to fall back on.

Making a million dollars is a far cry from having a million dollars. I’d prefer the latter. But even though I’ve now made it, I have very little left to show for it.

Don’t let my fun photo from a couple years ago fool you…it shows me with a stack of money, but it is actually a stack of ones ($1’s) covered by a hundred ($100) dollar bill to make it appear that it is more than it is. It was probably all the money I had at the time.

20140519-092649-34009798.jpg

 

If I get off employment and back to work soon, and work diligently for the next 20 years, I might make another million dollars.

How much of it do you think I will have left of it to retire on after modest living expenses and college expenses for my three kids?

You guessed it. Not much.

The American dream is dying, if not dead. No fault divorce laws are contributing to killing it, as are rising medical expense costs, reduction of manufacturing and exports, and rising entitlements.

Long live the human spirit … even if it lives out most of its life broke.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2014 11:54 am

    Excellent!!!

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

