Skip to content

Dos de Mayo

May 3, 2014

Yesterday was Dos de Mayo, and last night was St. Christopher Parish’s first ever Cinco de Mayo event. It was quite festive and I enjoyed it.

Since it was the first event of its kind at St. Christopher, I didn’t know what to expect. When I arrived at the event, which was FREE Admission to the public, I passed by an inflatable jumpy for the kids and bean bag boxes set up outside for a bean bag tournament. Inside the gymnasium I discovered a festively decorated environment with a grande-sized crowd. Mexican music was being played by DJ Candido, a piñata was strung up with kids lined up to get their whack at it, people were seated at tables throughout the gym and cafeteria, and some were lined up to buy food and beverage tickets. I ordered the taco dinner and the food was very delicioso.

Besides the festive music that the DJ played, there were also many live performances to entertain the crowd throughout the evening. Señoritas danced on stage in colorful dresses. Several individual or group singers sang Mexican songs and played musical instruments. There was festive Mexican costumery and dancing.

20140503-070105.jpg

 

I enjoyed the evening with some of my closest friends and we got this picture together. You may have seen the guy in the middle in a television commercial kicking off the Cinco de Mayo celebration. In the commercial he says, “Don’t rush into Cinco….start with Dos”.  We did.  It was fantastico.  Here are The Most Interesting Men In The World giving/getting bunny ears as they clink their favorite Mexican beer glasses and toast to the success of the St. Christopher Cinco De Mayo event, with The Most Beautiful Señorita In The World standing by.

20140503-070227.jpg

 

I was so happy to see so many people enjoying the event.  I even saw  Super Man, Nick Karas, there for a while which warmed my heart even more.

The first ever Cinco de Mayo event at St. Christopher was a social success. I hope it did OK financially too, as I would love to see it as a new annual area event alongside the Fiesta summer carnival event. If it is, plan on attending next year and maybe I’ll see you there to clink glasses and “Fiesta!” with you too.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

