Skip to content

Forces

April 10, 2014

“May the force be with you”, or so goes the pop culture expression from a recent hit movie.

But did you ever ponder the forces around us, and what keeps them at bay and working for us?

I was sitting peacefully in church and had that thought.

Thousands of pounds of roofing materials over head, that if they were to collapse would have crushed and killed me and everyone around me.

Yet we knelt or sat peacefully in prayer and praise.

A universe of vast temperature extremes from the million degrees of supernovas, to the -460 degree temperatures of absolute zero in deep space.

Yet we sat comfortably in a 72 degree church praying and giving praise on a planet of temps varying modestly and manageably from extremes of -135 to 135 degrees.

A universe of gravitational forces so strong that light itself could not escape it’s powerful pull and crushing singularity, and weightlessness so useless that we would drift infinitely unable to get traction toward any purpose.

Yet, I knelt comfortably on my knees giving thanks and praise to the One who created and held all these powerful forces at a comfortable distance from me and those around me.

Speeds so fast that objects colliding would pulverize massive rocks and planets (and me!) into dust.

Yet rocks so steady that man could predictably build structures and churches on them that would last for eons.

Light so magnificent as to blind, and darkness so black as to render vision useless.

And yet, I could see all beauty in His sanctuary around me clearly, as a rainbow of color filtered gently through the stained glass above onto the sanctuary before me.

Weight, heat, pressure, speed, light…forces so great and vast they are almost incomprehensible.

Yet I sat quietly pondering them, as many do, safely in classrooms, offices and laboratories around the globe, and places of similar comforts as my church.

 

Who did I have to thank for the extremes out there that awed me, and the gentle surroundings that held me in safety and comfort?

The very One before me, in His sanctuary, who created all.

Thanks and praise to our great and mighty, yet merciful and loving, God.

May God, the author of all forces, be with you today and always.

 

“I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

“When I am in the world, I am the Light of the World.” John 9: 39

“You are like light for the whole world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. No one lights a lamp and puts it under a bowl; instead it is put on the lampstand, where it gives light for everyone in the house.  In the same way your light must shine before people, so that they will see the good things you do and praise your Father in heaven..” Matthew 5:14-16

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. 150 | Ed Novick's Blog

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

