Skip to content

The Elephant In The Room

September 18, 2013
tags: , ,

I had a thought this morning – it seems there’s an elephant in the room and no one wants to talk about it.

It seems that society has conditioned us to ignore the elephant and pretend it’s not there.

But elephants are big and mighty, and they’re hard to ignore.

I have friends that see the elephant, but they can’t talk about the elephant, because they’ve been prohibited from talking about the elephant with severe consequences if they do.

The elephant is sad. The elephant knows we see him, and sense him, but
I imagine hurts because we don’t talk about or to him. He’s right there and he
wants to help in every situation, but we don’t let him. We’ve been warned that we can’t talk about or to the elephant or will be in trouble, or will be scorned, or outcast, or receive severe consequences. So we turn our back on our friend, the elephant.

Where is the room?

They are all over our nation. They are our classrooms, our workplaces,our courtrooms.

Who is the elephant?

He is God.

Across our nation we are prohibited from talking about God in our
classrooms and wonder why we have the problems in our communities that
we do. You can’t talk to the children about God. We can’t share our faith, or where it comes from, or what we believe, or the truth. Teachers of great character and faith are not free to say the truth about where their character, faith and motivation come from or how they got it. So how can we expect our children to learn these qualities?

We can’t speak of God or faith in our workplaces. It’s not PC (politically correct). It may offend. It may create conflict. It may be uncomfortable. So we tiptoe around the elephant in our work lives.

We can’t speak the truth about the elephant in our courtrooms. It’s not civil. It’s been determined by a small minority that it is irrelevant.

Without God, what is the meaning in anything?

Fortunately in America we still have our church places and public places where we are free to speak about, to pray to, and to worship God.

I went on a retreat at our church. There we were free to talk about God and see how He moves about in our lives. It was liberating to be free to talk about God and my faith with other people who had felt similarly repressed by our world. It felt good to acknowledge God and to share Him with others.

It was wonderful and comforting that I could talk about the elephant with other men and women and know that he was real, not imaginary, and that I wasn’t the only one who experienced him. It just felt so right to speak the truth and see the elephant right with us in the room of life.

It felt good not to compartmentalize the elephant. Elephants don’t like to be compartmentalized.

And the God of all creation, present in it all, doesn’t like being ignored in any part of it.

We need to be able to talk about God to one another. We need to be able to talk to our children about Him. And we need to let our children have the freedom to acknowledge Him, talk about Him, and to love Him too.

(My apologies to anyone offended by the analogy, including God or any atheistic elephants.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 7:44 pm

    I agree so much with this post, I shared it on my Facebook wall. I am a catholic and proud of it, but I seem to be in the minority.

  2. BSun permalink
    September 18, 2013 8:32 pm

    The most important teachers a child has are the parents. Between birth and the child’s 18th birthday a child spends 91% of their life with their family while 9% at school. As a teacher, I can be a role model and lead by example. Whether I can speak about my beliefs or not, I know my actions make a difference. I also know that no matter how hard I try, I cannot overcome parents who have morals and standards different than what I would want for my family or my community.

    Silent prayers are probably said before tests, I see students bow their head before lunch. God is there working silently except to those who hear His whispers in their hearts. Societies problems are not to be blamed on teachers but the family structure and the support system that have fallen apart over the years.

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

