Skip to content

So Many Steps Forgotten

March 15, 2013
tags:

I wrote this poem in my last year of college. I had been thinking how much walking I had done around campus over the years, and throughout my life. And how fast time flew. The poem just sort of came to me. You could say it was divinely inspired.

It was printed on the prayer cards for my father’s wake. He had liked it. I hope you do too.

So Many Steps Forgotten

So many steps forgotten
Each with rhythmic ease
The many miles wandered
On carefully cadenced knees.

So simple a maneuver
Presupposed before its done.
I know the moves instinctively
And have since I was one.

Since days I began walking
I’ve grown mindless of the task.
And just how many steps I’ve took
I’ve got no one to ask.

Each stride gone to oblivion
But not the places been
Moments between have fleeted by
Again, never to be seen.

The many paths I’ve trampled on
The many roads I’ve walked
The many thoughts I’ve thought of
And the friends with whom I’ve talked.

All the times spent going nowhere
On foot from place to place
The times pursuing something more
By running in the race.

Each step just takes me closer
To where, I do not know.
But in the end I’ll forget every precious step
And to The Lord, on wings, I’ll go.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2013 2:39 pm

    I love this, Ed! Beautiful, awesome, just so well put. You ARE a poet…and now we all know it! Great job 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I’m A Poet, Don’t You Know It | Ed Novick's Blog

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

