Skip to content

Sheer Genius

March 5, 2013
tags:

My blog’s tagline is “Genius…sheer GENIUS!”

For those of you who might imagine the tagline to be a sign of an egomaniac at work, I imagine you might be right.

I have been referred to by some who love me, including my brother, as “Ego Eddie”. This is a tongue in cheek twist on the birth nickname my beloved grandmother game me when I was born – “Eager Eddie”. (Grandma gave all the grandkids and great-grandkids similar alliterate nicknames, like “Mighty Mike” or “Coach Cody”. )

Sometimes I do have an inflated ego.

The reality of the meaning of the tagline I selected when I set up my blog is a little more self-deprecating and humorous than you might read on the surface. So for those of you who don’t recognize the popular culture reference, I’ll explain.

I grew up like millions of other kids in America watching cartoons on Saturday morning, and one of my favorites was the Bugs Bunny/Road Runner hour. Bugs is my favorite, of course, but one endearing character on the show is one that I identify with, especially in recent years, is Wile E. Coyote – the hapless coyote who pursues the Road Runner, to no avail, and with disastrous consequences to himself.

help!

 

The Road Runner cartoon was largely un-vocal, with almost no dialogue except the Road Runners familiar “Beep Beep”,

But in rare episodes Wile E Coyote was given a voice and lines to give us further insight into the mind of the character.

In one such episode, Wile E. proclaims himself a super genius, and uses creative techniques and advanced technologies to capture or kill the target of his hungry desires, the Road Runner. Plan after plan after plan backfires on him, but that doesn’t stop Wile E from trying, whether out of the necessity to eat or compulsivity to succeed. Each plan becomes more and more elaborate and ingenious. At one point he ponders his plan and proclaims “Genius. That’s what it is. Sheer genius!” And, as we soon learn, each plan backfires disastrously.

Can you relate? Does that ever happen to you? Do your best-laid plans ever backfire disastrously? When it does, do you hurt? What keeps you going when you do?

As cute as the Road Runner is, I find myself rooting for the poor Coyote. I don’t want to see anything bad happen to the Road Runner, but I feel bad for the poor Coyote too.

Wile E. Coyote is not a genius. He just needs to think he’s one. He needs to believe in himself. He needs to keep trying. He needs, as one friend of mine encourages, to ‘never, never, never give up’ – even when it works out badly or hurts. He needs to feed the hunger within and work diligently to fill it. Is that so bad? Can you relate? I do.

We live in a world of complexity, competition and conflict. We need certain things to live. We need to use our intellect, our creativity and our internal hunger to succeed and get what we need to survive. It’s always been that way. It always will be. We may go about it differently, but the human drive is universal. We are all different. But we are all very similar at heart.

Discovering and sharing the commonalities between us, the connections, stories that we related to, the emotions that bind us together as humans who toil, strive, fail, get hurt, and keep on going in a cold, hard, complicated world, is what my blog is all about, and at the heart of the human spirit I love.

My blog may not always be “Genius…sheer genius!”, but it will always be the best I have to share, to inspire, to entertain and to give hope and encouragement to you all…and that is as genius as humanity can hope for.

For more info on Wile E. Coyote: http://wbau.wikia.com/wiki/Wile_E._Coyote

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

