Skip to content

Stalking Dave Winfield

February 24, 2013

I had an awesome time at my first MLB Spring Training game ever yesterday.

The weather was beautiful, sunny 65 degrees in Peoria, AZ. The Seattle Mariners faced the San Diego Padres.

We had great seats behind home plate (thank you, Charlene!), but because they were in the shade where it felt a little cool, we soon relocated to sunny seats three rows behind the Padres dugout on the first base side.

We soon noticed commotion that was going on in front of us as people tried to get the autograph of a man in the front row. We wondered who it was and I quickly recognized him as MLB Hall of Famer Dave Winfield.

Dave Winfield was a 12 time All-Star who played outfield for the Padres and several other teams in the 80s and 90s. He retired around 1995, so I had not seen him in around 18 years, but he was a big man with distinctive features and still looked well.

We took a photo and I texted it to my brother, a great baseball fan himself, to see if he recognized the celebrity in our midst too. He guessed right on his first try!

20130224-062705.jpg

It was great to be outside watching a baseball game in the Arizona sun.

But thoughts of being so close to a Hall of Fame celebrity continued to interrupt our focus on the game. We kept talking about how to get an autograph or better picture to share and commemorate the moment, like on a blog or something.

Since Mr. Winfield, or Dave, as I call him (since we were so close), was so willing to sign autographs for kids and baseball fans who recognized him, I thought I’d try too. We passed a program and pen his way and people around passed it to him for us. Here he is signing my program.

20130224-063629.jpg

And here he is passing it back toward us….with a smile.

20130224-063737.jpg

And here is his autograph on the program.

20130224-063846.jpg

And here I am with my new friend, Dave.

20130224-070939.jpg

A brush with fame, a souvenir in hand, photo proof in album and a story in mind, my stalking was over and my baseball day was complete.

The Mariners won in a good game, 8-6.

20130224-071152.jpg

The weather, the experience of the day, the game and the company were wonderful.

And the baseball legend hero came through to delight the fans of the game … again … still …further proving what is great about the game and spirit of baseball.

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

