Skip to content

Relaying Thanks

March 26, 2011

Last night I walked in the Relay for Life event at Lewis University to benefit the American Cancer Society (ACS). Thank you to all of you who sponsored me and gave generously to ACS!

Having signed up with only 2 days to spare, I was so proud and thankful for the generousity of my friends and family who promptly sponsored me. I set a goal of $500 which is what I had raised the last 2 years, and hoped for the best. My online donations now total $330 and I have many supporters who were sending me checks or cash toward ACS. I currently have pledges or cash totaling $440, and have at least 3 others who have pledged to send some unspecified amount by check, so I’m confident I’ll hit my goal or will make up the difference myself.

Additionally, our alumni team of 8 alumni raised right around our $1500 goal. The Young Alumni Board did a great job of organizing participation in this event for the third year in a row, had more team members than the past two years, and set a new high total for funds raised by our alumni team. They also had a table for the first time at the event and sold cupcakes to help us raise even more money.

The opening ceremony and lumenaria ceremony were also powerful moments of reflection and hope for cancer survivors, caregivers and fundraisers wanting just to help everyone celebrate ‘more birthdays’.

I walked 65 laps around the indoor track between 6:30pm and 12:30am when I left. This equates to slightly over 8 miles. The 65 laps were symbolic for me – one for each year of my dad’s life’s trip around the sun. I thought of him often throughout the night.

My feet and hips are sore today, but it is well worth the effort and pain to participate in this event and help raise money for ACS’s effort.

Thank you for your support and generousity. Donations can still be made at http://main.acsevents.org/goto/zephyrgarten.

To read about my past Relay for Life experiences:
2010 – https://ednovick.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/thank-you-to-many-generous-sponsors-and-to-you-dad/
2009 – https://ednovick.wordpress.com/2009/03/28/relay-for-life/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ed Novick permalink*
    March 28, 2011 6:39 pm

    Update: My online donations are up to $355, and I have another $135 in pledges offline totaling $490. I’ll be giving the additional $10, so I consider my $500 fundraising goal met!

    Thank you to all!
    Ed

  2. Ed Novick permalink
    March 29, 2011 3:53 pm

    Update: Another generous donor sent $25, so my online donations are up to $380, and I have another $145 in pledges offline totaling $525. Thank you all!

  3. Megan Kuhn permalink
    March 29, 2011 4:41 pm

    It was great meeting you at Relay! Your contribution is impressive, especially considering the short amount of time you had.

Trackbacks

  1. Relay Relections | Ed Novick's Blog

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

