Skip to content

Thank you to many generous sponsors…and to you, Dad

February 22, 2010

Thanks to so many of you for sponsoring me in the Relay for Life to benefit the American Cancer Society! I appreciate your generosity.

My team, the Lewis University National Alumni Association, exceeded our goal of raising $1,500 for ACS, and were the second highest fundraising team in the event. I was a little short of my $500 fundraising goal and last year total of $550, but will exceed $300 for sure, and you can still give thru the web site link below.

I walked about a half marathon and over 100 laps between the hours of 6:30pm Friday to 1:30am Saturday. It beat my 65 laps and 4 hours of walking last year. My team was still walking when I was done.

I walked in honor of my father who died from cancer last year. Another team member walked in loving memory of his wife who died from cancer last year. Another team member walked in support of her mother who has survived breast cancer recently.

I was surprised when about 1:15am a young college man approached me and said “Mr. Novick?”. I’m seldom called that even by my kid’s friends, but said “Yes?”. The young man introduced himself as Drew Phalen, a former player on my father’s baseball team, the Marauders, around 10 year ago. He was now a sophomore at Lewis – a flight major. We had a nice conversation. He, like so many other young men, is a proud product of the Marauder baseball tradition that my father managed for over 33 years. He had fond memories of dad and his experience on the Marauders. I imagine some of his success in life will be a direct result of the discipline, pride and drive to win that is the Marauder tradition. I was proud to connect with another former Marauder, just like myself, who learned a lot from Dad, and was giving back in this Relay for Life.

Ed Novick and Drew Phalen at Relay for Life 2/20/10

I was thinking of you, Dad. So was Drew, and many others who gave generously to the American Cancer Society in your name.

The Relay for Life is more than just a fundraising event for ACS…it is a metaphor for passing the baton in the relay of life from one generation, to the next, to the next…and helping each ‘next’ have it a little better, and healthier than the last.

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

