Skip to content

Be

March 27, 2009

“Be
As a page that aches for a word
Which speaks on a theme that is timeless
And the one God will make for your day
Sing
As a song in search of a voice that is silent
And the Sun God will make for your way” – Neil Diamond – “Be

No. Just because I mention Neil Diamond lyrics in my first two posts doesn’t mean you can expect to see him quoted again tomorrow or any time soon.

But I do love these lyrics ever since I heard them back in college.

With a world caught up in ‘doing’, do we ever take time to just ‘be’?

And if we do, do we ‘be, as a page that aches for a word which speaks on a theme that is timeless’ so that ‘the one God will make for our day’?

These lines speak to me of the passion of the soul. They speak to me of the need to be calm and confident at the center of the storms of life. They speak to me of the hunger to be alive in the moment. They speak to me of the aching desire to be remembered past your lifetime. They speak to me of God’s reminder to live each moment with an eye on eternity.

Why do I write (or blog)?

To capture the thoughts of a moment in time for the eyes, minds and hearts of countless people and moments in the near and distant future.

I have papers I wrote in gradeschool that still come out for memories 30 years later. I have poetry I wrote in college (When Comes This Spring Called Loved?The Sun With Your Face RisesSo Many Steps Forgotten,  that still touches souls today. I have emails I wrote a decade ago that I still browse through to ‘remember when’ and share connections again as needed…a virtual journal of my life and times.

Some of the moments are sad. Some of the moments are happy. Some of the moments are serious. Some of the moments are playful.

All of the moments are blessed.

Today, slow down…and take some moments to just ‘be’.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Ed n Les Possibilities

"For Somethin' Nice!"

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Ed Novick Comics

Because 'Ed Novick Strips' Sounded TOO Funny

Ed Novick's Blog

Genius...sheer GENIUS!

Eman

There's A Hero In Every Man

Unintelligent Arguments

My blog is a satire for all with stories, adventures, and opinions based on facts with minimal evidence and maximum wit. In short, a chronicle of my life. I hope you enjoy perusing my random banter, hilarious adventures, short stories with imaginative characters and hidden meanings, my unique wit, interests in pop culture and oddball opinions.

Fitted Feet

The Good News of Peace

